About Shri Mataji (founder)

Internationally recognised

Shri Mataji was a Nobel Peace Prize nominee, recipient of the United Nations Peace Medal and was twice honoured by the United States Congress. She was internationally recognised for her contribution to humanity through a lifetime of work for peace and the wellbeing of mankind. She received awards and citations from the governments of many countries in recognition of her selfless efforts for social improvement.

“Shri Mataji’s discovery brings genuine hope to humanity.”
(Claes Nobel, grandnephew of Alfred Nobel, Nobel Peace Prize Foundation and Chairman of the United Earth Organization.)

Start of Sahaja Yoga meditation

In 1970, after studying the field of medicine and focusing on the scientific terminology of the anatomy and human physiology, she started Sahaja Yoga meditation which she insisted be shared with all, at no cost.

Shri Mataji’s core teaching is that within us all, lies a transformative potential which can be awakened using her meditation method. By doing so, we can bring peace and wellbeing to ourselves, our families, our social institutions, our nations and our world.

In keeping with her principles, Sahaja Yoga meditation is now offered in over one hundred countries worldwide, free of charge.

Shri Mataji in Australia

After her first visit in 1981 and on many subsequent occasions, Shri Mataji gave free public lectures to share her knowledge and teach the Australian public her simple method of Sahaja Yoga meditation. During these years, she gave over fifty public lectures around Australia, without charge.

Over the years, many tens of thousands of people attended her talks. Shri Mataji would stay for many hours after these lectures to individually meet all the audience members who lined up seeking her guidance.  Free follow-up meditation classes were also offered to those who came to her talks.

Australian Public lectures

Locations of Shri Mataji’s public lectures on meditation.  (Some locations had multiple lectures in the same year)

New South Wales – Sydney, Newcastle and Wollongong

  • Darling Harbour Convention Centre (1996)
  • Hilton Hotel Sydney (1990)
  • Hyatt Hotel Sydney (1985)
  • Macquarie University (1981)
  • Newcastle Town Hall (1992)
  • Sydney Maccabean Hall (1981 & 1983)
  • Sydney Masonic Centre (1985)
  • Sydney State Theatre (1987, 1991 & 1995)
  • Sydney Town Hall (1992, 1994 & 2006)
  • University of Sydney (1981)
  • University of NSW (1992)
  • Wollongong Arts Centre (1992)

Victoria – Melbourne

  • Camberwell Civic Centre (1987, 1990 & 1992)
  • Kew Sahaja Yoga Centre (1985)
  • Melbourne Town Hall (1995)
  • Prahran Town Hall (1992)
  • Public lecture (1994)
  • Royal Exhibition Building (1981, 1983, 1985 & 1991)

South Australia – Adelaide

  • Adelaide Town Hall (1983 & 1985)
  • Adelaide University (1987)

ACT – Canberra

  • National Convention Centre (1990)
  • ACT Press Club (1991)
  • Playhouse Theatre (1992)

Queensland – Brisbane and Cairns

  • Brisbane School of Arts (1985)
  • Brisbane Town Hall (1987, 1991 & 1992)
  • Cairns Civic Centre (1990 & 1991)

Western Australia – Perth and Fremantle

  • Fremantle Overseas Terminal (1990)
  • Fremantle Town Hall (1992)
  • Hyatt Hotel, Perth (1990)
  • Perth Dalkeith Sahaja Yoga Centre (1983)
  • Perth Town Hall, Perth (1983 & 1955)
  • South Perth Civic Centre (1991)
  • University of Western Australia (1994)